11 replies to this topic
  • Please log in to reply

simbaorka101

simbaorka101

Not Getting started

• Server Donator
  • 1,491 posts

Hello,

Over the years I've noticed that gta iv has pretty high review scores on a lot of sites, even 10/10 on ign and gamespot. I've always wondered why is that, but for some reason never bothered to look into it.

The first gta game I played was gta 3, I found it pretty good(at the time it was one of the best games), then some time later I found out about GTA:SA. The first time I played it was at the friends house and soon after i downloaded it on my pc as well. In total I spent hundreds of hours on the game, it's easily one of the best games ever made. 

Then I found out about GTA IV, I was like cool this is going to be like beyond amazing. The day came and I installed it on my pc, when i started playing it I was beyond disappointed. I expected gta sa with better graphics, improved systems and some new features(gta v did a 85-95% good job on what i expected from gta IV and i guess the theme is different so some features don't make sense anymore anyways). What we got instead was a better version of an older game, gta 3. On top of that the better version of gta 3 still didn't come even close to SA. If gta iv was released before SA i think it would be a decent sequel but since it's released after it's just a disappointment.

Here are my reasons(this is subjective opinion rather than analysis because I don't remember every detail of both games anymore but I'm sure people who agree/disagree would name the same categories at least):

1.The characters in SA are better and more fun

2.In SA you had pretty much every vehicle category you can find in games, in gta IV you had only boats, helicopters and cars(reduction in at least 2 types)

3.Car tunning, one of the bigger issues, really leaving this out could've just stabbed that rating rockstar, and i'm not even a cars fan at all

4.Performance issues

5.car handling is horrible